I’m back with my November roster

Hello everybody,

It’s been three weeks now, I know. I wrote the post about the miserable reserve month and on the same night I’ve got a gift from the rostering team – a Hanoi, Vietnam flight with amazing 30 hours long layover. All people are bidding to get this flight and I was pulled out from standby. It is a mini multi sector with a stop over in Myanmar which makes this whole flight very long and tiring. I spent an amazing layover with visiting Halong Bay. I am gonna make a post in the close future.

After this flight something very bad happened to me in my private life which made me stop writing or thinking about anything else. Things are getting a bit better and easier now, but I still don’t know how long it’s gonna take to get back to normal. Not only with blogging but with everything else. We will see.

In the meanwhile I’ve got my roster with the following flights:

  • Doha, Qatar (turnaround)
  • Budapest, Hungary
  • Dublin, Ireland
  • Chennai, India (turnaround)
  • Budapest, Hungary
  • 5 days off
  • Dublin, Ireland

Since this roster came out, a lot of things changed. I swapped the days off for an Oslo, Norway flight and I also swapped my last Dublin for Birmingham. I am gonna fly with my best friend so this is something I can not wait for. Something very bad happened as well – they removed me from my first Budapest flight as I was the most junior crew (yes, this is where I am after one year). I was extremely depressed, I emailed every departments explaining how important this flight was to me, but no one could help me, and I didn’t get back the flight. And do you know what the funny thing is? On the morning of the flight they pulled out someone else to operate the flight. Being in Dubai with my mentioned personal problems and then being removed from home flight totally broke my heart. I kind of wanted to die. I felt so so  sad and miserable so I eventually called sick for the home standby I’d got. I don’t know if it’s Karma or unlucky coincidence (I know, this one doesn’t exist) but I actually got sick for the Dublin flight. Blocked and running nose, breathing difficulties and everything. The 8 hours long flight was very challenging, but I made it. The European air healed me and I had a great time in the city. I am gonna make a post about Dublin as well.

So this is it, in nutshell. Tomorrow is my first year anniversary in Dubai, hard to believe, it seems like only few month! I have to admit that I changed a lot but I believe I am still loyal to my principles. Sometimes it’s not easy, but I am still very thankful for this opportunity, I still like my company and I still want to stay here. What a year!

IMPORTANT NOTE: MY POSTS ARE MY PERSONAL VIEWS. THEY DO NOT REPRESENT THE VIEWS OF MY COMPANY.

Dorottya

 

5 thoughts on “I’m back with my November roster

  1. Oh dear. Thank you very much for your posts. We really enjoy them. Please keep posting. About what happened, life has a funny way of kicking us but just pull yourself up and try to get on with your precious life. I know it may be difficult but it’s only time. Trust the process and you will just be fine. Soon enough it will be nothing but a memory. Now just focus on the good side of life and appreciate the good things that you have. Congratulations on your first year in Dubai working for Ek. Please enjoy!

    Like

  2. hello dorotya,
    first of all i´m sorry for your loss 😦 hope to get better soon 🙂

    and i have a question: how can they remove a stewardess from a Budapest flight, which is a layover. they do that when the capacity of the plane is not full, I suppose. and what would they do in case that the flight back from budapest to dubai gets fully booked? that one crew member would be missing, wouldnt she?

    head up, keep postin bye 😉

    Like

    1. Hi Loca,

      Can be any other operational reason but in my case it was the load. If the way back is full, they keep everyone but if both flights are not so full, then they remove one or two 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

