Second day in Koh Tao

Hello my dears, I am back! 🙂

Already finished my Thai holiday (back in Hungary for the next 8 days) so it is time to catch up with the posts, as I have a lot to tell and also have plenty of spare time at home. So in my previous post I wrote about my first day in Koh Tao. I still felt myself pretty bad during the night, I was literally crying in my bed, missing my boyfriend and thinking how crazy I was to be in Thailand on holiday completely alone. Next day I had to be in the diving center at 8 am and I bought two small Kit kat chocolates from my smiling landlady’s shop. As I bit the first piece of the chocolate, I found out it was rancid. So eventually I ended up with empty stomach and thinking about how old the chocolate could be. As soon as I entered the diving school, a very tall and friendly looking guy welcomed me, Joel my future instructor, from the US, Philadelphia.

He said we would have one more person in the group, Joseph. During the time we were waiting for my future buddy, I tried on the wet suit, the fins and the BCD (buoyancy control device) to make sure I would get the proper size. Few minutes later Joseph arrived, a 21 years old student from England. After his equipment was set up as well, we had a long session about the homework we made, at least from the first 3 sections (all together there are five parts). Joel explained the most important parts on an easier, logical way. I was lost to be honest. I was trying very hard to understand everything but it was difficult to imagine all the stuff I have never heard about. I also had some problems with English (the lack of it), I mean I haven’t even heard the word “buoyancy” before, so I hardly had clue about the whole thing. After we went through the three sections, we had a quiz, which was basically an exam. Unfortunately I made a couple of mistakes so Joel asked me to came back 10 minutes earlier from the lunch break – just to make sure I understand the whole concept. I was a little bit nervous, but I still went out with my buddy (Joseph) for lunch. We asked suggestions from Joel and we ended up in a very small, simple and “villager” style place at the same street. The food was AMAZING and very cheap (only 50-60 baht for a dish) and by the way always full. So I went back to the school with trembling heart and completed the test with a little bit help of Joel. Then with a bunch of fellow drivers we drove down to the pier to the boat.

DSC01065.JPGDSC01066

Or diving spot was Aow Leuk. The boat was so fast and it was extremely hard to stay steady (and dry) just like in fishing movies or whatsoever. Joel showed us how to put all the equipment together, how to do the checks and the buddy check as well. The tank was super hard and it was a new, uncomfortable feeling to wear it. Jumping into the water (as a real diver) for the first time was a bit scary for me. I had to stand at the edge and literally step into the water while I hold the regulator and the mask with the same hand and my weight belt with the other hand. The captain was holding me until I jumped but it was still so hard and scary. To make sure you float, you need to add air to the BCD prior to jumping.But let’s leave the details :). It would take so long to tell everything.

wp-1471287790162.jpg
When three of us were all in, we swam to the shallow water and we made our first breaths under water. It was very difficult for me at the beginning because I used to breath in my mouth and breath out my nose but in diving you always need to use your mouth. Whenever I used my nostrils the mask let some water in and that made me very uncomfortable. After practicing a bit I got more confident and this kind of breathing became more natural but obviously still a bit unusual. We did several, basic exercises, these are essentials for open water diving. We even had some fun dive when we finished, only few meters deep but it was great. After a short break on board we got our second tank and went back for more than 8 meters deep diving! The marine life was already fascinating, many corals and different species, I noticed a blue spotted stingray  which is quite rare to see at this area. The diving took 44 minutes, I was super cold when we finished. Back in the shop, Joel showed us how to clean all the equipment then we were free to go. After a quick, bit refreshing shower at my place I met Joseph and his new friend from the hostel where he stayed. This boy was from Germany and only 19 years old. He just had a bike accident and he came back from hospital, but he still behaved super cool. We walked down on one of the busy night life streets to the shore where the sun just disappeared beyond the horizon.

wp-1471287906459.jpg
We went to a cheap and nice place to eat, I had coconut soup with sea food and rice and was very delicious. Three of us had different plans to do; the German guy went to a “high bar”, Joseph bought ticket for Thai box (Muay Thai) contest and myself went for a beauty salon for heel skin treatment. It was so different, I lied on my stomach on a massage bed and the girl put some kind of gel on my heels which was cold at the beginning then became hot. She also put fabrics on it. I had a very small scar and this thing burnt it like hell. I guess it was some kind of dead skin removing gel with lactic acid or whatever. Then she did the original stuff; peeled the thick dead skin off. My heels became super smooth and soft, I was very happy with the result. 

wp-1471287977584.jpgwp-1471287850938.jpgTo be honest I am not really interested in box matches but I couldn’t get it out of my mind that I should have watched the show. But I am still pretty sure I would have felt bored after short time, so maybe it’s better. At least I had a good skin treatment.

So this is how I spent my second day in Koh Tao. I am going to try to write about the third one tomorrow, have a great night (or morning) everybody!

Ps.: I did my open/assessment day exactly a year ago! In the past year a lot of things happened, I am living an unbelievable life I always wanted to. I am very grateful for all the experience I made.

Dorottya

4 thoughts on “Second day in Koh Tao

  1. Ola Dorottya, I’m so stoked you’re back at blogging. I’ve always loved the level of detail with which you write, it makes me feel as if I’m living your experiences with you. I’d like to ask how do you as cabin crew who is in a new country every second day use your phone to stay connected? Do you have that many different sim cards or do you only use wifi? I’ve always wondered

    Like

    1. Thank you and welcome back 🙂

      Not at all, I only have my UAE sim card and a Hungarian one. We only spend 24 hrs at a certain place so having a different SIM card is unnecessary. We live in the world of Facebook and Whatsapp, it’s very easy to get in touch with anyone anywhere in the world. We only need wifi :).

      Like

Leave a Reply

