Only a month left – How do I feel myself about moving to Dubai?

Hello everybody,

It is sooo crazy, I can’t believe I only have a month left! :O Everything is getting real, 31 day is NOTHING! I remember when I got my Golden call on 7th September, I still had 74 days to go, and it seemed so long, I thought Nov 20 would never come. And here we are today, only a month left and I start my new life in the other side of the Globe!

image

You can guess I have varied feelings and thoughts inside me, that’s what I would like to share with you today.

Happy, proud, excited!

Obviously the most dominant feeling is a positive one, it is hard to believe that finally I made it, and I will REALLY be in Dubai very soon. This is the one and only thought which is constantly in my mind, even if I do something else I simply can’t get this happy feeling out of my mind. Most of the time this is what I would talk about with others, because as I wrote before, I can’t think about anything else.

Scared, nervous, worried

I would lie if I said I am not scared and nervous at all. Of course I am! I’m going to live in a different country, far away from everything and everyone I know and love. Basically I have to build a new life in Dubai by myself. I’m only 23 years old, I still live  in the parental house togetherwith my family, so it will be the first time (okay, second one because I used to spend 3 months in London alone) when they won’t be by my side. I am not the princess of daddy type girl – I have never been – but it is still scary to go to a country totally alone. I’m going to miss my family and all my friends. It is so weird to imagine that we will be able to meet only 1-2 times a year.
I am worried because of the training and the whole cabin crew job. Will I be good enough? Will I like it indeed? Deep inside me, I know the answer which is YES already, but I am still concerned. I don’t want to fail or something, but I guess it must be a normal feeling to have only 30 day before the joining.

Forever alone

Couldn’t miss the chance to use this title, haha :D. I guess it is a good sign that I can make fun of my own situation and feeling, so maybe it’s not that bad than I thought :). I’m talking about any possible relationship which could be difficult (but not impossible!) to maintain with this life style. I’m single which means I have to find a guy in Dubai :D. Of course this won’t be the most important thing, this isn’t the reason why I go to Dubai, but I plan to live there 3-5 years and I don’t want to be alone during years, but what if I won’t be able to find a nice guy? I’m gonna be forever alone :D. Haha,  actually I’m not that worried, but it has come into my mind before more than once.
I think this situation is still better than having a boyfriend currently and try to live in long distance relationship. Honestly, I have no ide how couples can do it! They are heroes and they likely have very strong bonding. Anyway I have no idea how I could handle this situation.

Still unbelievable

To sum up everything, it is an amazing feeling and I can still hardly believe what is happening to me. Sometimes I can’t sleep, my excitement keeps me awake. I can’t imagine what I will experience only few days before joining! Probably I have to face with insomnia :D.

Let me share you this video eventually. I remember when Emirates started to operate daily flight to Hungary exactly a year ago, I saw this commercial on TV and it had a big effect on me. That time I haven’t even tried to get hired (I was still preparing) and only a year passed and I’m very close to fulfill my dream! Sometimes I could cry, this journey is so amazing and magical! Don’t give up on your dreams ever, because if you REALLY want this, you will definitely get it! See you all in Dubai! 😉

Dorottya

4 thoughts on “Only a month left – How do I feel myself about moving to Dubai?

  1. Hey dear Dorottya! 🙂
    I’m reading your new blog and I want to support you in your anxiety. I understand your feelings very well cause after graduation of shooI I managed to enter to the University which was in another city, 300km far away of my home. I was 16 years old. And I had the same feelings as you now. Ofcourse it was not so far as Dubai but still I felt not very well when I thought about upcoming considerable changes in my life. I was a little bit frightened. And this is normal. When I came there, I was settled in hostel with two other girls in one room. First time it was pretty hard to handle all that changes I had on my shoulders but we girls are strong enough for this 🙂 believe me. Dubai is amazing city, I visited it this year. You will be very impressed when you get there.
    As for time, it seems for you time is running so fast and you’re preparing to your departure. It really goes fast but now it’s seems to me the time is like a snail cause I’m waiting my time till the next AD. That’s a reason maybe 🙂 But that’s all right.

    Honey, don’t worry, some marvellous events are waiting for you there so chin up and say yourself I will make it!
    Cheers 🙂

    Like

    1. Aww, Kidsun, thank you very much, you totally made my day! 🙂 ❤
      You're absolutely right, it doesn't really matter where we are, if we can't see our family and friends on daily basis, only few times in a year, then we could be anywhere…but this is life, I chose it, we choose it, it's gonna be easier I am sure :). Not gonne be the first time for me either, I used to spenf 3 months alone in London.
      I know, the time moves slowly when you have to wait for AD :D. I know this feeling, haha. We have to be very patient, but it's worth it 🙂
      Keep me updated! 😉

      Like

  2. Ah, thank you 🙂 it’s really pleasure for me being glad when people achive smth. after many attempts. If you made it this time the next time you will be able to do smth. greater. It’s kinda good inspiration. )))
    I also thought to try with Etihad but surely Emirates is my main goal but anyway life is unpredictable nad let’s hope for better 🙂

    Like

    1. I’ve always wanted to try Etihad, but they never came to Hungary. I also tried Qatar and I had a really good time on the assessment day! They say tis company is not that humane – which is likely true – but if they had hired me I would have said YES and moved to Qatar! If you follow the rules, you get the same! 🙂 Basically you get the same at every airlines (EK, EY, QA), only the rules are different. I would try Qatar too if I were you! 🙂
      I also gain inspiration from others, and I am very very very glad to be the inspiration too :). I am sure you will be an isporation too very soon! 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

