Tips for the final interview

Have a lovely Monday everybody 🙂

A new week has started, and I feel myself happy and excited! The sun is shining, I have no much work to do (that’s why I am blogging from the office 😀 ) and I have facial treatment appointment in the afternoon, haha!
So let me give you some advice for your cabin crew final interview. It is a huge result to get there, but the job is not guaranteed yet.

Prepare, prepare, prepare!

This is very important, no one should go to any job interview without preparation! I was lucky enough to won a scholarship at flight attendant central, which can be very useful for those who don’t know where to start the preparation or wish to get all the tips and information from one source. E-books are very useful as well.
I would suggest you to collect as many possible questions as you can (you can find them in blogs, forums, e-books) and try to give them your personal answers. Have a look at your CV, your detailed experiences and try to collect at least 1-2 tough situations you have ever experienced during every single jobs you had. Make sure that they have a positive outcome with good solution. Also try to focus on team work, how you had cooperated with your colleagues and it is almost 100% sure, that the recruiter is going to ask about disagreements or tensions you have ever had with your co-workers. No one would believe that you had never had any conflicts with them, so do not say you have never been in a similar situation!

Make sure you have all the documents you need or at least most of them. Although you are going to have 7 additional days to send them the missing documents, I think it is a plus if you already have everything they need.

Appearance

Now this is your chance to strive for the perfect cabin crew look! As I have previously writen, you don’t need to have this absolute look during the assessment day, but for the final, it is a must! Wear a bun, full-make up, long skirt, pretty blouse and heels of course! Honestly I didn’t apply red lipstick – or any other lipstick – again, because I didn’t want it to make my lips dry while I was talking. Not wearing it simply made me more comfortable :).

The STAR method

While you are giving your answers to the recruiter, you need to give her specific details about the situation you are talking about and a good solution ass well.

STAR-Method-Image2This is not my own picture, I found it in Google search

I wouldn’t suggest you to come up with stories which had never happened to you. All the rectuiters are very experienced and professional, they would immediately notice whenever you are lying. You are going to be in a stressful situation, so you could not even make a good lie! Do not risk your chance with this stupid mistake. If something has really never happened to you, be honest and tell her. Share your idea, what would you do in that situation, what outcome would you strive for.

Mind your answers

The golden rule for any job interviews is to never complain about your previous jobs, bosses or colleagues. Even if you did not get on well with any of them, don’t mention it to the recruiter. They are looking for someone who is ready to work together with any kind of people. If you get any questions, never say “I don’t know” you always have to come up with a good answer. That is why the preparation is very important :).
I have heard a story about this; when someone couldn’t give answer for a question, the recruiter said “Think harder”, which is quite embarrassing! I would never want myself to get into a situation like this one.

Smile!

Don’t forget to smile all the time! Try to make yourself relaxed and calmed, I promise it won’t be hard, because the recruiters are very friendly and kind, they do everything to try to make you feel good. Have a good posture, sit straight and do not put your elbows onto the table. I was constantly smiling and the recruiter even noticed that I seem to be a positive, smiling person.

To sum up everything, the most important thing is to be natural, smiling, have a good and positive attitude, be honest and you will be fine!

IMPORTANT NOTE: MY POSTS ARE MY PERSONAL VIEWS. THEY DO NOT REPRESENT THE VIEWS OF MY COMPANY.

Dorottya

16 thoughts on “Tips for the final interview

  1. Hi dear! I’ve found your note on cabincrew forums. You wrote you tried 5 times all together and finally got this job. Congrats! :)) I’ve already tried 2 times, the last was in Sept 2015 but I wasn’t successful. Unfortunatelly I don’t have too much time ahead cause I’m 28 years old and I fell I’m having 1 or 2 attempts more but anyway I’ll try again. Have a tiny question from you: after your unsuccessful attempts did you wait for 6 month to try again? Thank you very much for your blog :)))

    Like

    1. Hey Kidsun!
      First of all, thank you very much 🙂

      If it is your dream, it’s never too late to give it a try! I am sure there are people who are already 30 or even older and work for Emirtes, so you must be totally fine with your 28! Good luck!

      Like

  2. Hi Dora! 🙂 Thank you very much for your reply. Actually I’m confused about this rule of 6months waiting cause when I had my AD in Sept in Kiev (I’m from Ukraine) our recruiter said that it doesn’t matter on what stage you were eliminated you should wait 6 months. And I don’t know what to do in this situation. To go on OD to another country but what if they ask me about my previous attempts with Emirates? It seems puzzled. Let me ask – did you have all interviews in your country or you went to another country for OD? Thank you! 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Kidsun!
      Once I went to Bratislava, but all the trials were in my country, with the same recruiter :). If I were you, I woud not wait 6 months. You can not lose anything if you give it a try!

      Like

      1. The problem is that in my country interview is arranged by appointed agency, they make a preliminary list of selected candidates and only after we can take part in AD. The next interview will be 06-07Oct. but when I applied again they refused me. Anyway I dont want to lose my spirit. Please keep going here with your great blog, it’s very helpful :)))

        Like

      2. Ohh, I didn’t know about that. Maybe they have a list about the candidated who have previously attended. In this case I would suggest you to wait 6 months and try again… :/ I know it must be frustrating, but it seems you can not do anything else right now.

        Like

  3. If only Emirates has OD, but.. that’s why I thought about attending another country but again, I don’t know whether they will ask about my previous attempts.

    Like

  4. Hi Dora, I just found your blog and I’m loving your posts. I’m a little bit confused, I’m Portuguese but I’m living in UK at the moment and I’m not sure where should I apply. In UK you can only go to an assessment by invitation and In portugal you have the open days. I dont know why but the idea of going just by invitation it scares me a bit :S and do you know if in case I send my application online and I dont get to the assessment day if I can still try an open day in another country?
    I’m sorry for bothering you with these questions🙈

    Like

  5. Hey Dora, thank you so much for keeping in touch with hopefuls like us on your comments :D. Your blog is up to date and i really like how you go into detail with everything. My problem is my body size. I am a thick African woman * *, with a tiny waist, pointy curves and a huge bum lol (I am South African). I wear small on my tops and 32/34 pants. Do you think the recruiters will have a problem with my body size? I did the reach test at the gym and i scored the 212cm. My worry is my weight. I look forward to hearing from you 🙂

    Like

    1. Hey 🙂 Thanks for the compliment.
      Unfortunately I can not say anything for 100%. Your BMI index should be normal but the rest depends on the recruiter, or on their standard how they recruit people. Even though you described your body features I don’t know how you look, there is no picture in my imagination. The only thing I can say for sure that I have never seen overweight people in training college, at least not ab initios. But if it’s your natural curves you can’t do anything against it. Try the assessment day and you will see :).

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

